League_banner tennis_link_logo BBTAO_FIRSTDATA_color_Horizontal play_it_forward_apply_1024x512 facebook     twitter     youtube
USTA Georgia
116 Marble Mill Road
Marietta, GA 30060
404-256-9543
Tax ID 58-1309245
 

What's the Call: Switching sides in doubles on the service return

Action_7.0_9.0_10
March 22, 2016 11:42 AM

Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Or have you ever wondered why a certain ruling was made during a match you were watching? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.

The USTA Tennis Rules and Regulations Committee is here to answer your questions. Have a question of your own? Write to What's the Call!

Question: During the first set, the score was 6-6. Before beginning the tiebreak, our opponents changed their service receiving sides (deuce player moved to ad court; ad court player moved to deuce court). Is this allowed as the set was not yet completed? (submitted by Tom S.i)

Answer: No, doubles partners are not allowed to change receiving sides during a set (Rule 15). They are allowed to change receiving order at the beginning of a new set or a match tiebreak.

***

For the "Friend at Court" handbook and more information on the rules of tennis, visit the Officiating homepage.

 

 

Back

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
Close