League_banner tennis_link_logo BBTAO_FIRSTDATA_color_Horizontal play_it_forward_apply_1024x512 facebook     twitter     youtube
USTA Georgia
116 Marble Mill Road
Marietta, GA 30060
404-256-9543
Tax ID 58-1309245
 

What's the Call: Returning a serve before it bounces

Action_40___Over_4.0_Indian_Wells_5
February 24, 2016 11:21 AM

Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Or have you ever wondered why a certain ruling was made during a match you were watching? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.

The USTA Tennis Rules and Regulations Committee is here to answer your questions. Have a question of your own? Write to What's the Call!

Question: During my match, my opponent’s second serve was consistently hit short with a lot of backspin. On one such second serve, I rushed forward and took the ball in the air before it bounced into the service box. Is this legal? (submitted by Harold T.)

Answer: Nice idea, but that is not a legal shot. You lose the point because, according to Rule 24.e, a point is lost if the receiver returns the service before it bounces.

***

For the "Friend at Court" handbook and more information on the rules of tennis, visit the Officiating homepage.

 

Back

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
Close