League_banner tennis_link_logo BBTAO_FIRSTDATA_color_Horizontal play_it_forward_apply_1024x512 facebook     twitter     youtube
 

What's the Call: Pretend hitting

Page_38_55___Over_Photo_Gallery
August 15, 2015 10:10 PM

Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Or have you ever wondered why a certain ruling was made during a match you were watching? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.

The USTA Tennis Rules and Regulations Committee is here to answer your questions. Have a question of your own? Write to The Final Word!

Question: My partner pretended to hit an overhead he knew he couldn't reach and I played the point from the baseline. The opponent actually flinched and turned his back thinking he might be hit by the overhead, when in fact he was just faked out. I told my partner this wasn't allowed. What's the ruling? (submitted by Mike Mitchell)

ANSWER: Your partner did not do anything wrong. The point should have continued, and if your opponents stopped play, then your team wins the point.

**

For the "Friend at Court" handbook and more information on the rules of tennis, visit the Officiating homepage.

 

Back

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
Close