League_banner 2023_AO_LOGO GPTA_image facebook     twitter     youtube
USTA Georgia
116 Marble Mill Road
Marietta, GA 30060
Tax ID 58-1309245

What's the Call: Opponent line calls

February 10, 2016 10:45 AM

Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Or have you ever wondered why a certain ruling was made during a match you were watching? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.

The USTA Tennis Rules and Regulations Committee is here to answer your questions. Have a question of your own? Write to What's the Call!

Question: During my doubles match, I served a ball that clearly was long. My partner and I made no attempt to play our opponent’s return because I was anticipating a second serve. Our opponent claimed he won the point because he made a good return. We said that the serve was out, and it should be a second serve. Who was right? (Submitted by Rob K.)

Answer: The opponent was right in claiming he won the point. According to Code 5, players makes calls on their own side of the net, so even if you thought the ball was long, you still need to continue play as your opponent may have been giving you the benefit of the doubt.


For the "Friend at Court" handbook and more information on the rules of tennis, visit the Officiating homepage.