League_banner tennis_link_logo BBTAO_FIRSTDATA_color_Horizontal play_it_forward_apply_1024x512 facebook     twitter     youtube
 

What's the Call: Insect interference

Leagues
April 19, 2016 11:55 AM

Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Or have you ever wondered why a certain ruling was made during a match you were watching? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.

The USTA Tennis Rules and Regulations Committee is here to answer your questions. Have a question of your own? Write to What's the Call!

Question: In my match today, my opponent and I were constantly bothered by gnats and various flying bugs. Several times, we had to swat them away in the middle of points or before our serves. Can a let be called in a middle of a point because of buzzing insects? (submitted by Mandy H.)

Answer: Yes, if you make a loud noise or wild gestures with your racquet reacting to insects, your opponent could claim a let (and vice versa) (Code 34 and 36). 

***

For the "Friend at Court" handbook and more information on the rules of tennis, visit the Officiating homepage.

 

Back

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
Close