League_banner tennis_link_logo BBTAO_FIRSTDATA_color_Horizontal play_it_forward_apply_1024x512 facebook     twitter     youtube
 

What's the Call: Coin toss

Action_6.0_8.0_10.0_7
May 2, 2016 10:14 AM

Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Or have you ever wondered why a certain ruling was made during a match you were watching? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.

The USTA Tennis Rules and Regulations Committee is here to answer your questions. Have a question of your own? Write to What's the Call!

Question: Before our match, our opponents won the toss and chose to serve first. My team chose the tough sunny side of the court to help us prepare for serving into the sun. Toward the end of the warm-up, our opponents wanted to switch sides with us and practice serving into the sun too. Is this allowed? (submitted by Glenna H.)

Answer: No. The warm-up is not practice. In this scenario, you would not be required to allow your opponents to switch sides during the warm-up to practice serving into the sun. (Code 3)

***

For the Friend at Court handbook and more information on the rules of tennis, visit the Officiating homepage.

 

Back

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
Close