League_banner 2023_AO_LOGO GPTA_image facebook     twitter     youtube
USTA Georgia
116 Marble Mill Road
Marietta, GA 30060
Tax ID 58-1309245

America's best wheelchair players set for World Team Cup

MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - JANUARY 28: David Wagner of the United States in action in his match against Lucas Sithole of South Africa in their Quad Wheelchair Singles during the Australian Open 2015 Wheelchair Championships at Melbourne Park on January 28, 2015 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Robert Prezioso/Getty Images)
May 11, 2016 12:06 PM

By Ashley Marshall, USTA.com

Two of the most decorated wheelchair tennis players in history will lead Team USA at the 2016 BNP Paribas World Team Cup later this month.

David Wagner (pictured above) and Nick Taylor, three-time defending Paralympic doubles gold medalists, headline a strong American team competing at the ITF’s flagship tournament at Ariake Tennis Forest Park in Tokyo, May 23-28.

Behind the duo, which has won seven US Open Wheelchair Competition doubles tiles, the U.S. quad team will look to defend its 2015 crown and claim its 10th title in the past 16 years. The U.S. junior team also has its sights set on repeating as champions after winning its first title in 15 years with a victory over the Netherlands last year.

The inaugural event was held in California in 1985 involving six men’s teams. The women’s competition began the following year, with quad and junior events introduced in 1998 and 2000, respectively. The event has experienced continued growth since.

A total of 52 teams representing 29 countries will take part in the 2016 competition. Teams will compete in the men’s World Group (12 nations), men’s World Group 2 (12 nations), women’s World Group (12 nations), quad event (8 teams) and junior event (8 teams). The event will take place on hard courts.

Representing the United States at the 2016 BNP Paribas World Team Cup will be:

Men's Team   Quad Team  
Jason Harnett (Coach) Irvine, CA John Devorss (Coach) Salem, OR
Steve Baldwin San Diego, CA Bryan Barten Tucson, AZ
Hunter Groce Tucson, AZ Greg Hasterok San Diego, CA
Jon Rydberg Woodbury, MN Nick Taylor Wichita, KS
    David Wagner Hillsboro, OR
Women's Team   Junior Team  
Paul Walker (Coach) Lakeland, FL Dan James (Coach) Seattle, WA
Shelby Baron Honolulu, HI Chris Herman Gulfport, FL
Emmy Kasier Ft. Mitchell, KY Casey Ratzlaff Wichita, KS
Dana Mathewson San Diego, CA Conner Stroud Rutherfordton, NC
Kaitlyn Verfuerth Flagstaff, AZ    
<​strong>Certified Athletic Trainer   Team Manager  
Jenna Street Colorado Springs, CO Emily Sandor White Plains, NY