League_banner tennis_link_logo Truist_Logo2 play_it_forward_apply_1024x512 GPTA_image facebook     twitter     youtube
USTA Georgia
116 Marble Mill Road
Marietta, GA 30060
Tax ID 58-1309245



USTA Georgia recognizes standouts among
state tennis community with Annual Awards


MARIETTA, GA – USTA Georgia announced the recipients for the organization’s 2020 awards today, which recognize outstanding achievements statewide in tennis, on and off the court. Nine awards comprise the full list of honors, and the award winners will be officially recognized virtually in early February.

These annual awards seek to distinguish outstanding individuals in discipline categories.  Winners are nominated by their peers, with the USTA Georgia Awards Committee having the final authority on awards selections.  This year’s selections are highlighted by Dave Neuhart receiving the coveted Presidents Award, while Bill Ozaki is honored with the Ruth Ryner Lay Lifetime Achievement Award. 

The awards will be presented virtually in early February.   Below is the list of 2020 winners:

  • Al Parker Award for Junior Player – Rachel Wang
  • Hardie Family Award for Junior Sportsmanship of the Year – Ansley Carpenter
  • James Kincaid Family Award for Family of the Year – The Edward J. Tymes, Sr. Family
  • Local League Coordinator of the Year – Maegan Kulich, USTA Atlanta
  • Mac MacDougal Tennis Official of the Year – Karen Mabry
  • President’s Award – Dave Neuhart
  • Ruth Ryner Lay Award for Lifetime Achievement – Bill Ozaki
  • Jerry Baskin Scholar Athlete of the Year –  Richard Zhou
  • USTA League Female Captain of the Year –  Lori Morris




Tennis Trivia

Last week's answer was 1988 (first year Australian Open moved to Melbourne Park). Who did Novak Djokovic defeat to win his first Australian Open men's singles title in 2008?

Nikolay Davydenko
Roger Federer
Lleyton Hewitt
Rafael Nadal
Jo-Wilfried Tsonga